Skip to Content

Administration and Faculty



  • Denise M. Trauth, Ph.D.

President’s Cabinet

Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
J.C. Kellam Administration Building, Suite 1060

The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs reports directly to President Denise M. Trauth and represents the university in all respects in the president’s absence.

As the chief academic officer, the provost is responsible for all the university’s major academic endeavors, which include supervision of all academic units and programs as well as a number of academic support and service units.

The provost is also responsible for academic strategic planning, managing the budget for the division of Academic Affairs, establishing academic policies, academic unit reviews and accreditation, academic program development in conjunction with deans, chairs/directors, and faculty representatives, and resource development for academic affairs.

In addition, the provost authorizes academic appointments, leads faculty development initiatives and makes recommendations to the president on all faculty evaluation decisions, including tenure and promotion, among other responsibilities. The Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs works closely with and coordinates the efforts of the executive team to achieve the established goals of the university, within a framework of shared faculty governance.


Academic Deans

Academic deans are the chief executives of their colleges and the major academic officers of the university. To be effective, deans operate within a university organizational structure that clearly communicates the fundamental importance of academic concerns.

Academic deans lead in the formulation of appropriate departmental, college and university policy and are responsible for the implementation of those policies. The deans meet as the Council of Academic Deans and have responsibility for leadership in matters of curriculum, instruction and academic policy.

University College
Daniel Brown, Ph.D.

College of Applied Arts
T. Jaime Chahin, Ph.D.

Emmett and Miriam McCoy College of Business Administration
Denise T. Smart, Ph.D.

College of Education
Michael P. O’Malley, Ed.D.

College of Fine Arts and Communication
John Fleming, Ph.D.

College of Health Professions
Ruth B. Welborn, Ph.D.

College of Liberal Arts
Mary C. Brennan, Ph.D.

College of Science and Engineering
Christine Hailey, Ph.D.

The Graduate College
Andrea Golato, Ph.D.

Honors College
Heather C. Galloway, Ph.D.

Department Chairs and School Directors

Department chairs and school directors are the chief executives of their departments and are responsible for the implementation of university, school and department policies for the development, coordination and administration of all academic programs and activities within their departments.

As representatives of their schools and departments, chairs articulate program aspirations, directions, standards and points of view to other groups inside and outside the university community.

Ann L. Watkins, Ph.D.

Aerospace Studies (AFROTC)
Lt. Col. Matthew Fehrman

Madan M. Dey, Ph.D.

Elizabeth M. Erhart, Ph.D.

Art and Design
Michael L. Niblett, M.F.A.

Dittmar Hahn, Ph.D.

Center for International Studies
Paul Hart, Ph.D., Director

Chemistry and Biochemistry
William Brittain, Ph.D.

Clinical Laboratory Science
Rodney E. Rohde, Ph.D.

Communication Disorders
Valarie B. Fleming, Ph.D.

Communication Studies
Melinda M. Villagran, Ph.D.

Computer Information Systems and Quantitative Methods
Ju Long, Ph.D.

Computer Science
Hongchi Shi, Ph.D.

Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education and School Psychology
Kevin A. Fall, Ph.D.

Criminal Justice
Christine S. Sellers, Ph.D.

Curriculum and Instruction
Jodi Patrick Holschuh, Ph.D.

Chad Booth, Ph.D.

Engineering Technology
Andy H. Batey, Ph.D.

Daniel T. Lochman, Ph.D.

Family and Consumer Sciences
Sylvia Crixell, Ph.D.

Finance and Economics
Ruby Kishan, Ph.D.

Yongmei Lu, Ph.D.

Health Administration
Matthew S. Brooks, Ph.D.

Health and Human Performance
Duane V. Knudson, Ph.D.

Health Information Management
Jacqueline A. Moczygemba, M.B.A.

Angela Murphy, Ph.D.

Journalism and Mass Communication
Judith B. Oskam, Ph.D.

Paula L. Rechner, Ph.D.

Raymond P. Fisk, Ph.D.

Materials Science, Engineering and Commercialization
Jennifer Irvin, Ph.D.

Susan Morey, Ph.D.

Military Science (AROTC)
Lt. Col. Jose A. Garcia

Modern Languages
Lucy D. Harney, Ph.D.

Thomas S. Clark, D.M.A.

Marla A. Erbin-Roesemann, Ph.D.

Occupational Workforce and Leadership Studies
Mary Jo Biggs, Ph.D., Interim

Craig Hanks, Ph.D.

Physical Therapy
Barbara L. Sanders, Ph.D.

Mark W. Holtz, Ph.D. 

Political Science
Kenneth L. Grasso, J.D.

William L. Kelemen, Ph.D.

Radiation Therapy
Reynaldo G. Lozano, Ph.D.

Respiratory Care
S. Gregory Marshall, Ph.D.

Social Work
Jose E. Coll, Ph.D.

Chad L. Smith, Ph.D.

Theatre and Dance
Debbie Alley, M.F.A.